The 2024 Science of Reading Star Awards

Do you know someone who has transformed their classroom and empowered their students with the Science of Reading? How about a school or district that has established strong evidence-based practices and seen incredible results? Honor this work by nominating them for a Science of Reading Star Award!

With each year, our Science of Reading Star Awards get bigger and better. Last year, we received more than 1,000 nominations from all corners of the country and heard inspirational stories from educators driving change with the Science of Reading in their districts, school, and classrooms. We can’t wait to find even more shining stars this year!

The application window has now closed! Please check back here for more information about the winners soon.

image of science of reading star teacher awards

Science of Reading Star Award categories

The District Captain

For the district that exemplifies strong Science of Reading practices across the board.

The Literacy Legend

For the school that has seen significant reading gains among its students school-wide when using the Science of Reading.

The Science of Reading Rookie

For a school that has adopted the Science of Reading in the last two years and demonstrates a true cultural transformation from top to bottom.

The Changemaker

For showcasing exemplary Science of Reading routines and practices, and serving as an inspiration to others on the journey.

The Language Luminary

For outstanding success in developing the skills and strengths of emergent bilingual students and English/multilingual learners.

The Knowledge Builder

For showing the world that the Science of Reading is more than just phonics, and that it empowers students with knowledge, context, and vocabulary from elementary through middle school.

The MTSS Maestro

For the implementation of a Multi-Tiered System of Supports framework that creates a thriving and robust literacy ecosystem.

The Data Dynamo

For outstanding use of data to drive intervention strategies and maximize student achievement.

The Cross-Disciplinarian

For skilled weaving of literacy practices across subject areas in the classroom.


All award winners will receive:

  • Free enrollment in the Foundations to the Science of Reading online course
  • A spotlight on an episode of Science of Reading: The Podcast.
  • Honorary Amplify Ambassadorship.
  • Science of Reading starter library.
  • Tons of swag!

The grand prize winner in the District and School categories will receive a regional event hosted by Amplify. The grand prize winner in the Individual category will be given full conference registration and associated travel costs to NCTE in Boston, in Nov. 2024.